Look Ma No Hands – Video 22 – Album “Songs From the West Coast”

27 08 2010

Here it is!  Vlog post number 22, the third track from Elton’s 2001 release Songs From the West Coast, Look Ma No Hands.  I’ll start by saying, this song was a pain in my rear to record.  Its a pretty tricky song to play the vocal line, so I apologize for the rough spots in advance. 

This song is the true definition of piano-folk.  The song moves very quickly but still has a nice easy feel to it.  I’ve always loved this song for many reasons.  Most importantly, one year at Christmas, I bought this album for my mother.  Inside the CD I left her a note that said “Be sure to listen to track number 3, Look Ma No Hands, its for you.”  My mother passed away a few years later, as I mentioned in a previous blog, so this song really rang true.  Through the trials and tribulations I’ve experienced in my life to this point my mother in some way has always been there to support me.  And I picture her proud smile everytime I hear the line “Look ma no hands, look ma aint life grand, I’m a super power and I’m a handy man.  Didn’t I turn out to be everything you wanted ma, aint you proud of me?” 

So without further ado, I want to again dedicate this song to my mother.  I hope you all enjoy what I’ve done with it!  Thanks for your support!

I’ll take a rainy day to make a champagne shower
Poach some horn and tusk to build an ivory tower
Been to Philadelphia the day it was closed
I walked to New Orleans down a Louisiana road

The skeletons they hung from the bushes and the trees
But not a skull among them said boo to me
In a time of wine and cheap cigars I’m on top of the world
Top of the world Ma

Look Ma no hands
Look Ma ain’t life grand
I’m a super power, and I’m a handy man
Didn’t I turn out, didn’t I turn out to be
Everything you wanted Ma
Ain’t you proud of me

It takes a silver tongue to have the Midas touch
Not your alchemist making gold from rust
Been down in Roswell when the Martians came
I sailed to Mandeville across Lake Pontchartrain

The skeletons they hung from the bushes and the trees
But not a skull among them said boo to me
In a time of wine and cheap cigars I’m on top of the world
Top of the world Ma

Didn’t I turn out, didn’t I turn out to be
Everything you wanted Ma
Ain’t you proud of me

© 2001 Happenstance

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 11 2010
DrPaula

Oh my God!!! You are so awesome. I came across you by accident on an Elton John nostalgia trip through YouTube? Are you going to make an album? Can I download the audio? You are amazing!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Paula

23 12 2010
Serena

Where do you get your sheet music from? I would like the music that you used for “I Need You to Turn To.” Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

